You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

Christmas straw ornament workshop

Since I moved to Lithuania I didn’t have the opportunity to deal with my favorite activity: crafts and handmade stuff. No, that doesn’t mean that people here are not involved with this kind of things or that you cannot find ideas, materials or workshops about diy creations. For me it was just lack of spare time. But yesterday I had this great chance to participate in a very interesting and full of creativeness workshop, here in the place where I live.

collage1

collage2

collage3

Biržai Regional Museum Sėla hosted Zita Kumpelienė a crafts master who showed us how to make unique handmade traditional Christmas straw ornaments. These straw decorative objects for Christmas trees constitute part of Lithuanian folk art. The ornaments can be made out of wheat or rye straw which were used for decorations by farmers for special occasions and events. The event that was created by Kirkilai Crafts Center, part of the museum (http://www.birzumuziejus.lt/en/kirkilai-crafts-center) lasted for some hours. These few hours were enough for us to try out different techniques and make two or three ornaments. I can say that I didn’t have such a great luck with the first one that I tried to make, but I loved the little angel I created in the end!

The materials are few and simple: many straws, threads, scissors, and needles. And also some kind of special little plastic round things that you can use in order to divide the straws in smaller parts, or to hold them (but I think even without these special tools someone can improvise and find something simpler and more common to use for this purpose).

collage4

collage5

collage6

collage7

collage8

collage9

collage10

I find the outcome, that is the ornaments, to be cute. This kind of natural element gives a sense of warmth and simplicity. It is the sense of a traditional home that is hospitable and open to welcome people to celebrate together! That’s why I would like my next Christmas decoration (and if I am hopefully back home again!) to include this beautiful handmade objects!

collage11

collage13

collage14

collage16

collage17

www.facebook.com/birzumuziejus/?fref=ts
www.facebook.com/Kirkilų-amatų-centras-1056896774401166/?fref=ts
http://www.birzumuziejus.lt/


Images (c) matinamk, youhandmademehappy.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

today is…

December 2016
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow You handmade me {happy} on WordPress.com

Categories

Follow on Bloglovin
