You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

Open your house and let me get in!!! – [Open House Thessaloniki 2014]

Here’s a different kind of festival with a clearly architectural interest. Open House in Thessaloniki took place this year in November 15-16. The people of the city had the chance to see museums and public buildings but in a more different way. OHT was there to expose a more architectural perspective and give all visitors the opportunity to understand the meaning, the value and the history behind each different style and design.

The whole thing wasn’t only about public places that anyone can visit at any time. There were so many things to see in flats and apartments, in offices, restaurants and hotels as well.

This two-day event included for me a variety of unique things to see. Many of these things gave me new and unique ideas for constructions for my own place. I may not be an architect or an interior designer but that’s the great deal: to make something special and ‘one of a kind’ just for me using my own skills!

Here’s what I enjoyed most:

I loved this architectural office with all these transparent spaces that give you the sense of a very bright and clear place.


A lovely retro style flat in a listed building. It’s so interesting how this apartment was renovated. The green colour on the wall combined with red, brown, yellow and other intense colours gives that sense of retro.


A hair studio that combines all the necessary elements in order to give a more dominant character. All these concrete elements and the metal ones combined with dark blue or black make the place strict yet shiny and bright.


One good example of luxury and modern design was that bar- restaurant in the center of the city. Many different designs of chair but so well combined!


This office in Aristotelous square had something really amazing, and that was its view. For me, it was a bit overloaded inside but there were some things that I liked and these were of course the wonderful antiques used as a decor.


A multispace in a listed building that has also a hidden story to tell. Visitors have the opportunity to see a part of the eastern city wall and a well.


Modern residences, flats with unique decorations and designs, houses that can inspire you and so many other things were there for us. Well, I loved that festival and I can’t wait to see much more new and various things next year!


Images (c) matinamk, youhandmademehappy.wordpress.com.

7 comments on “Open your house and let me get in!!! – [Open House Thessaloniki 2014]

  1. Pingback: After all we had a good time! | You handmade me {happy}

  2. Maria Brinkley
    November 24, 2014

    Thanks for the tour! Lots of great ideas for decorating here. 😊 I like rooms to be uncluttered with not too much furniture. Space is nice. I am in the process of de-cluttering at the moment! Lol!

    • matinamk
      November 24, 2014

      I like that too, but you can always find many tricks to make a room look bigger even if you have a lot of things!

  3. Oh, thanks to sharing it with us, dear! Really, I’d love to be there too. 🙂 But I enjoyed it a lot in your blog!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2014 by in Art is in my he[art] and tagged , , , , , , , .

today is…

November 2014
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Follow You handmade me {happy} on WordPress.com

Categories

Follow on Bloglovin
