You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

How to make pocket notebooks

One of my favourite collections is my notebook collection. I love having notebooks, mini journals and pocket books and I always need to carry some of them with me wherever I go! So, I thought that it would be great if I personalized a little bit more my notebooks. Actually I decided to make my own notebooks by using different kinds of scrap papers (I love that ‘every page is a little surprise’ style 😉 ) and cutting pages from magazines or old posters, pictures etc.

collagea

collageb

You can do any kind of combination you want by using a variety of paper patterns and textures. I used some striped pieces of paper, millimetre paper, tracing paper, even logarithmic paper (that is actually what’s been left since I was a student!) and for my cover a nice picture taken from an old magazine (yeah, I hardly throw away old magazines or newspapers!).

After choosing my paper combination, I had to fold all the pieces of paper in half. Once my papers were all uneven, I had to trim them and make them equal size. For that, I had to take the smallest piece of paper and cut all the other pieces to the same size with the smallest one.

collagec

collaged

collagee

collagef

collageg

collageh

collagei

The next step was to stitch the papers. If you do that, be carefull to start from the outside to the inside. I decided to open only two holes but you can do it with more than two if you want. There are so many ways for the binding and I think, for a notebook, that way is the easiest and simplest one.

collagej

collagek

collagel

collagem

collagen

collageo

The stitches will then be covered by washi tape. You can choose any washi tape you like. Just combine the colours of the cover with the washi tape colours or patterns. For me, there’s always the option of not using any tape. I think the notebook would be very pretty as well just with the thread on the outside. Just use any kind of pretty and colourful thread, or combine two or more different threads and make nice knots or bows.

collagep

collageq

collager

If the paper you’re using for the cover of the notebook isn’t a glossy one, just stick a transparent adhesive cover for books. You have to be very carefull when doing that, because if the adhesive cover doesn’t stick properly, it might have wrinkles and creases.

collages

An extra thing I did to my notebook was to trim the edges by using a special tool that make rounded edge cuttings.

collaget

collageu

So, it’s pretty easy to make a notebook! And low-cost as well!

collage7


 Images (c) matinamk, youhandmademehappy.wordpress.com.

4 comments on “How to make pocket notebooks

  1. Pingback: Dinky DIY Projects for the Holidays | Who'd Have Thought?

  2. kathyh
    November 2, 2014

    I really like this idea too, my daughter always has to have a notebook on her, and this would be a great way to make some for her!

  3. Maria Brinkley
    October 30, 2014

    I really like this! What a fun personalised notebook to have. Great for a travel diary, recipes or for doing sketches and noting down ideas. Thanks for sharing! 😊. Have a happy day! 😊

  4. I love notebooks and these are pretty! =) Well done!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2014 by in D.I.Y. Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

today is…

October 2014
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow You handmade me {happy} on WordPress.com

Categories

Follow on Bloglovin
