You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

Everyone is an artist!

1expl

Finally got it!!! It’s the new book I’ve ordered a few days ago and now I’m starting to realize that this is not just a book.

Keri Smith’s ‘How to be an explorer of the world’, is a guide on how to explore anything that can be interesting. But firstly, with this book, you have to redefine the meaning of ‘interesting’. Anything useless at first sight can be something that you should collect and examine, as it would be the most valuable thing in the world.

2explr

When I, accidentally, first saw this book on the internet, I couldn’t imagine that it would be so suitable for me to use, until I read the first few pages and found out that this book is based on the same philosophy that my life is based on, as well! It is all about the connection between science and art.

3explo

Actually, there are challenges in this book that are in fact that what I’m doing as a geology scientist: collecting, observing in detail similar things (rocks and minerals, in my case), analyzing, spotting the differences and documenting them. There’s also a fieldwork section on the back of the book and I can say, that really reminds me my ‘geological fieldwork’!

4explr

And it’s not about just collecting and observing. Some of the ideas that book gives you, can make you use all of your senses. You can see, you can taste, you can smell, touch and listen. And after all, you record. You’re becoming an explorer, like a scientist, or like an artist. Or both!

For this great discovery, I would like to thank Brain Pickings that chose to publish an article about this amazing work of Keri Smith!

Here’s the link of Brain Pickings’ article on ‘How to be an explorer of the world’:

http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2012/08/24/how-to-be-an-explorer-of-the-world-keri-smith/

 

 

2 comments on “Everyone is an artist!

  1. Pingback: My ‘book vacation’! | You handmade me {happy}

  2. chris
    July 11, 2014

    Sounds like an interesting book; I’m going to try and check it out!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2014 by in Art is in my he[art], Life moments and tagged , , , , , , .

today is…

July 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Follow You handmade me {happy} on WordPress.com

Categories

Follow on Bloglovin
