You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

O.M.G.!I’m so retro!

The first thing that pops up in my mind when I hear the word retro, is the 80’s music, with the sounds of synthesizers and the second one is polaroid camera (that I always wanted to have…). After these two things, I can think much more stuff that are retro to me! Retro is not a kind of music, or just a design form, not even just a fashion statement. Well, it could be all these but it’s also a way of thinking and a link to all these that the past can offer!

3917939681_1e38297a13_o

Bauhaus.

3917939173_c932fa9664_o

The Smiths.

siouxsieretro

Siouxsie.

polaroidretro

Polaroid Land Camera 1000, by Fallen Angel / Angel Caido.

The meaning of the word retro has to do with going backwards, in past times. It actually came out from the word retrospective which refers to a nostalgic perspective or maybe critical eye toward the past. So, in other words, retro is a style coming from the past to the present. A style in clothing, in ads, in music, in technology and so on.

Retro art is linked to pop art via retro advertisments that use bold graphics and letters and a lot of colour combinations.

Colour blocking weren’t only used in retro ads, but also in fashion and interior design. Retro clothing is mostly known for the geometrical patterns with bold colours and shapes. Someone could say the same thing about a retro decorative wallpaper (I guess these two things are based on the same philosophy of ‘bold features’!). Unfortunately, this same philosophy has been used in make up styles too!

designretro

Vintage Stereo Equipment, by dogulove.

computerretro

…big computers.

3987372392_34a5dc3491_o

Portion of a vintage 1950s Jantzen bathing suit advertisement.

Nevertheless, I cannot still omit my favourite retro games, like game boy or the best arcade game ever, pacman! Even retro tattoo designs are my favourite ones! Yeah, it’s true that I prefer old school style like roses, hearts, eagles, sparrows or anchors and anything that has not much colouring but a lot of bold outlines.

I always wanted to own retro things and have at least just a bit of a retro style. It’s somehow the ‘former vintage style’ to me that always brings a nostalgic sense.

omgretro

 

5 comments on “O.M.G.!I’m so retro!

  1. pedrol
    October 31, 2016

    great musical taste 🙂 PedroL

  2. Pingback: How my blog evolved in a year! | You handmade me {happy}

  3. equinoxio21
    October 9, 2014

    Retro is 80’s music! OMG. I grew up with Clapton (when he was playing with Cream!) 🙂
    Nice blog.
    Take care
    Brian

  4. Maria Brinkley
    June 28, 2014

    When I was young I worked a telephone switchboard that I recently saw in a museum! That’s a bit of a shock! I remember pre-mobile phone days and pre-computer days very well. Time and technology move faster all the time and it’s hard for us ‘oldies’ to keep up. Thanks for the interesting post matinamk. 😊

    • matinamk
      June 28, 2014

      Wow, I guess it was a little shocking! It’s also funny that nowadays teenagers don’t even know about cassette tapes! Sadly for me, despite the fact that I lived the era of cassettes, I can’t remember my self without a mobile phone!! Fortunately, I can remember asking Santa to bring me dolls and Legos and not an i-pad!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2014 by in Art is in my he[art] and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

today is…

June 2014
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow You handmade me {happy} on WordPress.com

Categories

Follow on Bloglovin
